Board of directors - Executive directors 

RH (Richard) Friedland, Group Chief Executive Officer
Qualifications: BvSc, MBBCh, Dip Fin Man, MBA | Appointed: 15 May 1997 Prior to joining Netcare, Richard was Operations Director of Medicross responsible for overall operations and establishing medical centres on a national basis. He joined Netcare early in 1997 as Chief Operating Officer to lead the transformation and re-engineering of the businesses. He established Netcare UK and was CEO of the Netcare International Division from 2002 until August 2005. Richard was appointed CEO of the Netcare Group on 1 September 2005.

KN (Keith) Gibson, Group Chief Financial Officer
Qualifications: BAcc, CA(SA) | Appointed: 10 November 2011 Keith joined Netcare in July 2006 as Financial Manager of Netcare's International Operations. He was appointed as Acting Chief Financial Officer of Netcare on 1 August 2011, and as executive director and Group Chief Financial Officer from 10 November 2011. Prior to joining Netcare, he held senior financial positions with PPC Cement and Barloworld Limited. Keith also chairs the Finance and Investment Committee and Working Capital Committee.

Board of directors - Non-executive directors *

T (Thevendrie) Brewer (45) Board Chairperson, Nomination Committee Chair
Qualifications: BCom, Postgraduate Diploma in Accountancy, CA(SA) | Appointed: 24 January 2011 | Other directorships: NM Rothschild and Sons (SA) Proprietary Limited. Thevendrie has had a distinguished career as an accountant, being a former Partner at Ernst & Young. Thevendrie has subsequently garnered extensive corporate finance experience while at Deutsche Securities (SA) Proprietary Limited and NM Rothschild & Sons (South Africa) Proprietary Limited.

M (Mark) Bower (62) Audit Committee Chair
Qualifications: BCom (cum laude), BCompt, BCompt Honours, CA(SA) | Appointed: 23 November 2015
Apart from his academic expertise and professional acumen in the field of accounting and auditing, Mark has held a series of leadership and senior executive positions at Deloitte, SABMiller and Edcon. His external board and trustee appointments include Rhodes Food Group Holdings Limited and Hollard respectively. He was also a previous Edcon Limited board member.

B (Bukelwa) Bulo (40)
Qualifications: BBusSci Hons, CA(SA) | Appointed: 23 November 2015
Bukelwa has worked in the Private Equity industry for over 10 years and has procured extensive exposure to a wide spectrum of sectors. Her external board appointments include Capital Appreciation Limited, Jade Capital Partners Proprietary Limited, Unispan Holdings Proprietary Limited and Franki Geotechnical Proprietary Limited.

L (Lezanne) Human (50)
Qualifications: M.Sc (Cum Laude), MBA (Cum Laude) | Appointed: May 2019 | Other directorships: Bank Zero. Lezanne has had a varied and colourful career to date, spanning financial services, manufacturing, loyalty and consulting, with a strong focus on the digital world. She has extensive experience in business turnarounds, as well as in the building of strong businesses from small start-ups.

MJ (Martin) Kuscus (62) Quality Leadership Committee Chair
Qualifications: BA Cur, Dip Company Direction, EDP | Appointed: 1 July 2008 | Other directorships: Synergy Income Fund and Mineworkers Provident Fund. Martin is an independent businessman active in the technology services industry. Prior to this, he served as President and CEO of the South African Bureau of Standards for five years. His career in Health Services and Provincial Government Finance spans almost three decades. In 2004 he was appointed as a Commissioner on the Financial and Fiscal Commission. In 2006 he was elected to the Council for the International Standards Organisations (ISO) and was a member of the PRI Board, a UN Global Compact Initiative on Responsible Investment, from 2006 to 2009. He was also Chairperson of the Board of Trustees for the Government Employees Pension Fund until July 2009. He is currently Chairperson of Synergy Income Fund and Chairperson of the Mineworkers Provident Fund.

KD (Kgomotso) Moroka SC (63) Social and Ethics Committee Chair
Qualifications: BProc, LLB | Appointed: 23 July 2006 | Other directorships: Standard Bank Group Limited, South African Breweries Limited, MultiChoice South Africa Proprietary Limited and Royal Bafokeng Platinum Limited. Kgomotso is a practising senior advocate and serves on a number of boards, including Standard Bank Group Limited, South African Breweries Limited and Multichoice South Africa Proprietary Limited. She is the Chairman of Royal Bafokeng Platinum Proprietary Limited and Gobodo Forensic & Investigative Accounting Proprietary Limited. She is also trustee of the Nelson Mandela Children's Fund, Project Literacy and Tshwaraneng Legal Advocacy Centre. She is also a non-executive director of SA Breweries, Standard Bank and Multichoice.

N (Norman) Weltman (68)1 Risk Committee Chair
Qualifications: CTA, CA(SA) | Appointed: 3 November 1999 | Other directorships: None Norman has been with the Group since 1993. He has over 15 years' experience in the healthcare industry and has previously served as Chairman of the Hospital Association of SA (HASA). Norman became a non-executive director with effect from 1 September 2008.

* All non-executive directors are independent.

Executive committee – South Africa

Dr Richard  Friedland (54)* Group Chief  Executive Officer

Qualifications: BvSc, MBBCh,  Dip Fin Man, MBA
Joined Medicross in 1995

Keith  Gibson (46)* Group Chief  Financial Officer

Qualifications: BAcc, CA(SA)
Joined in 2006

Noeleen  Phillipson (48) Managing Director – Netcare 911

Qualifications: RN, MBA
Joined Clinic Holdings  in 1994

Jacques  du Plessis (51) Managing Director – Hospitals

Qualifications: BCompt (Hons) Accounting
Joined Medicross  in 1996

Dr Dena van den Bergh (54)* Director – Quality Leadership 

Qualifications: BPharm, MSc (Med), Eng D
Joined in 2011

Dr Richard Friedland (56)
Group Chief Executive Officer

Qualifications: BvSc, MBBCh, Dip Fin Man, MBA
Joined Medicross in 1995

Keith Gibson (48)
Group Chief Financial Officer

Qualifications: BAcc, CA(SA)
Joined in 2006

Jacques du Plessis (53)
Managing Director – Hospitals

Qualifications: BCompt (Hons) Accounting
Joined Medicross in 1996

Dr Billyy van der Merwe (57)
Managing Director - Primary Care

Qualifications: MB ChB, MBA
Joined in 2008

Craig Grindell (47)
Managing Director – Netcare 911

Qualifications: N Dip EMC, NH Dip Business Management, Bachelors Degree EMC
Joined in 2001

Dr Anchen Laubscher (38)
Group Medical Director
Director – Cancer, Psychiatry and Rehabilitation Services

Qualifications: MBChB, DCH, DipPEC, PGDipGM, MBA (cum laude)
Joined in 2007

Dr Nceba Ndzwayiba (40)
Director – Transformation

Qualifications: PhD, M Phil HRD, BTD Hons (Cum Laude), B Technology, NDip ODETD
Joined in 2008

Lynelle Bagwandeen (43)
Group Company Secretary and General Counsel

Qualifications: BSc, LLB (summa cum laude), LLM, FCIS
Joined in 2011

Mark Bishop (50)
Commercial Director

Qualifications: B.Comm
Joined in 2002

Melanie Da Costa (46)
Director – Strategy and Health Policy

Qualifications: MCom, CFA
Joined in 2006

Travis Dewing (45)
Chief Information Officer

Qualifications: NDip IT
Joined in 1997

Peter Warrener (56)
Group Human Resources Director

Qualifications: BSocSci, Dip Fin Man
Joined in 2007